WCERA is the official association for Endurance Riding in the Western Cape Province and is one of the nine provinces that make up the council of the national endurance body, Endurance Ride Association of South Africa. (ERASA). The sport is run under the rules of ERASA but also under the rules of the International Equestrian Federation (FEI).

Endurance riding is an equestrian sport based on controlled marathon rides held over 30, 40, 60, 80, 120 and 160 km distances to be completed in one day.

The Western Cape consists of six districts, each with an established club.

  • Cape Wine Lands district (Western Cape Club), (Swartland Club)

  • West Coast district (West Coast club),

  • Unicity district (Simonstown Club),

  • Overberg district (Tip of Africa Club)

  • Eden district, (Garden route club and George Riding club).

Life is a great big canvas: throw all the paint you can get at it
- Danny Kaye